Posted in Challenge, Short Strory

Eye contact

it

I once was a perfectly happy and healthy thirteen-year-old girl. It all changed when I walked into our living room one Saturday morning and saw my parents on the couch with a letter.

“Why are you guys acting weird over a piece of paper”? I asked and folded my legs under me on the couch.

“Dad got promoted and he is being offered a position on the other side of the island” my mom said not making eye contact.

It took me a second to process the information.

“Dad is not going to take it right? I mean, you wouldn’t do that to me? A new school? All my friends are here” I said in a panicked voice.

My mom looked at my dad, waiting for him to respond. He looked up at me and I could see that he already made up his mind.

“I’m taking the job honey. This is an opportunity I am not willing to pass on. You’ll make new friends, I promise”.

➵                                 ➵                                ➵                                   ➵                                 ➵

And that was that. A month later all of our belongings was loaded into the back of a moving truck and we were on our way to the other side of the island. I was still angry but I knew that at this stage I had no leg to stand on. Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad, or maybe it would. Little did I know that my life was about to change.

➵                                 ➵                                ➵                                   ➵                                 ➵

I started school the following Monday. After first period I briefly made eye contact with a girl who was in no doubt the mean girl of the school. I could see that she was on her way over to me so I ducked into the nearest bathroom, hoping she didn’t see me. I really didn’t want any drama. It took seconds for them to barge through the door. I continued to wash my hands, trying not to look at her. Maybe if I pretended she wasn’t there she would go away. I knew girls like her and I knew perfectly well what they were capable of.

“Excuse me” I said in the softest most polite way possible and tried to get past her to get out the door. She grabbed me by my throat and shoved me against the cold wall behind me. This of course took me by complete surprise.

“You made eye contact, everyone knows that forbidden” she hissed at me.

I was frozen. I couldn’t do or say anything. I wanted to roll my eyes at her. People weren’t allowed to make eye contact with her? Who did this girl think she was, the queen? Her friends laughed.

“Never look at me again you filthy hag” she hissed again and let go of her grip on my throat. She walked out the room and her clan followed.

I stared at myself in the mirror. I didn’t know what to do or what to think. I grabbed my backpack and headed outside to get some fresh air, promising myself that I would stay out of her way as far as possible. If I left her alone I’m sure she would leave me alone. Boy, was I wrong.

The bullying and harassment continued for the weeks to follow. Every opportunity she got to embarrass me or  physically hurt me she used. Her friends joined in on the fun and I could feel myself quickly slip into depression. I never understood why they were doing this to me? Was it because I was the new girl? I didn’t understand. Why me?

I never told my parents. I guess I should have but I just didn’t want to hassle them with this.

➵                                 ➵                                ➵                                   ➵                                 ➵

Neon pink and orange flyers were being distributed throughout the school. One landed on my desk in third period. It was a party. The boy behind me tapped me on my shoulder and I turned around.

“You should come” he said, pointing at the flyer.

I smiled and nodded. This was the first party I was invited to since I got here. Well, not like this was an invitation but still. I was excited and went shopping with my mom that afternoon for an outfit.

Music was blaring as I walked up the driveway. I opened the front door and was surprised by all the people there. It was nothing like the parties I was used to that’s for sure. I walked around looking for a spot to sit when I noticed them. I looked away and turned my back. I didn’t want to look at her and cause a scene. Unfortunately she noticed me and came right over. Great.

She grabbed me by my hair and forced me into a room nearby.

“What are you doing here?” She asked through clenched teeth.

“It’s a party half of the school was invited to” I snapped back.

She tightened her grip and shoved my head into the drawer standing next to the bed.

I screamed which made her more angry and more violent. After a few punches to the head I could feel more and more warm liquid dripping from my head and it wasn’t long before I blacked out.

➵                                 ➵                                ➵                                   ➵                                 ➵

I once was a perfectly happy and healthy thirteen-year-old girl until I met a girl who disliked me for no reason. I was happy and healthy until I came across a girl who was angry at the world and took it out on me. I was in a coma for seven months. Not only did she bash my head in but she also dumped me in the swimming pool and it took a while for someone to notice that there was a lifeless body floating.

My parents took her to court, her case is pending. I was a happy and healthy thirteen-yearh-old girl until I was put in a coma for seven months. Perhaps we could have moved away? Perhaps I could have gone back to my old school? Perhaps it would have all worked out? I won’t ever have the answer for that. I was in a coma for seven months and then passed away.

STOP BULLYING

Leave a Reply

